TUM Ambassadors 2017

 Foto: © Astrid Eckert / TUM
Von links nach rechts:  Prof. Nicholas Zabaras, TUM Vizepraesident Prof. Gerhard Müller, Prof. Helge Raubenheimer Prof. Ulrich Knaack, Prof. Gregory Hager (obere Reihe), Prof. Philip Yetton , TUM Vizepraesidentin Prof. Juliane Winkelmann , Prof. Polly L. Arnold, Prof. Ben Feringa, Prof. Harald Brune (untere Reihe)

Foto: Astrid Eckert / TUM

Polly L. Arnold

Professor, EaStCHEM School of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh, Great Britain

Stays at TUM: 2012-2015

Host: Professor Fritz Kühn

Selected Awards: The Lord Kelvin Prize of the Royal Society of Edinburgh

“Brilliant scientist spotting‘ in the IAS building with a good coffee. Excellent, diverse and relaxed lunchtime lectures.”


Foto: Astrid Eckert / TUM

Prof. Harald Brune

Professor, Institute of Physics, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland

Stays at TUM: 2013-2017

Host: Professor Johannes Barth 

Selected Awards:

2015 Fellow of the European Physical Society

2013 Hans Fischer Senior Fellow of Institute of Advanced Study TUM

2011 American Physical Society

Latsis Prize 1996 of International Latsis Foundation Fellow

“I greatly benefited from the multi-disciplinary community at IAS, also the secretarial support was outstanding. I supervised two PhD students and enjoyed discussing with them and the respective groups.”


Foto: Astrid Eckert / TUM

Prof. Ben L. Feringa

Professor, Ben Feringa Research Group, University of Groningen, Netherlands

Stays at TUM: 2011-2017

Host: Professor Thorsten Bach

Selected Awards: 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

„My visits on several occasions to the TUM have been highly stimulating and inspiring. I cherish the fine discussions with the students and staff. The high quality of the science at the TUM and the enthousiasm experienced in an outstanding scientific environment will have a lasting influence on my research and collaborative work.“


Foto: Astrid Eckert / TU Muenchen;


Prof. Gregory Hager

Professor, Department of Computer Science, Johns Hokins University (JHU), USA

Stays at TUM: once a year since 2005

Host: Professor Nassir Navab, Professor Darius Burschka, Professor Tim Lüth, Professor Gordon Cheng

Selected Awards: 

IEEE Fellow

Fellow of the MICCAI Society

Fellow of AIMBE

“My appointment in the TUM-IAS over the past three years greatly expanded my personal and professional connections to TUM, which has in turn expanded my intellectual network and day-to-day research activities. With Professor Navab, Professor Burschka and Professor Cheng, I have developed several new ideas around interactive perception-based systems. This has matured into completely new ideas on automated mentoring. With Professor Lüth, I’ve gained a new appreciation for the process of computer-aided design and manufacturing of advanced mechatronics devices. We are now pursuing both ideas at JHU and also at TUM.”


Foto: Astrid Eckert / TUM

Prof. Ulrich Knaack

Professor, Department of Architecture Engineering and Technology, TU Delft,  Netherlands

Stays at TUM: 2014

Host: Professor Thomas Auer

Selected Awards: 

2016 Class of the College of Fellows of the Façade Tectonics Institute

2014 Red Dot Award „Best of the Best“ category spatial communication

2013 The ZEROprize – the Re-Sinning Awards for commercials

“The faculty of Architecture is a great environment and has great people to research and develop with! Next to a nice research project in Sustainability we developed a concept for a scientific conference ‘PowerSkin’ which is held in relation to the trade fair BAU.”


Foto: Astrid Eckert / TUM

Prof. Helgard Raubenheimer

Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemistry and Polymer Science, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa

Stays at TUM: 1973, 1980, 2004-2017

Host: Professor E.O. Fischer, Professor Hubert Schmidbaur

Selected Awards: 

Gold medal of the S.A. Chemical Institute

Rector’s award for research, Stellenbosch University

Havenga medal of the S.A. Academy for Science and Arts

“The stimulation provided by interactions at the TUM have equipped me for managing a young Chemistry Department in Johannesburg and to essentially rebuild an existing one into a lively and successful Chemistry and Polymer Science venture at Stellenbosch University, South Africa.”


Foto: Astrid Eckert / TUM

Prof. Philip Yetton

Professor, Department of IS and Business Analytics, Deakin University, Australia

Stays at TUM: 2008-2017

Host: Professor Helmut Krcmar

Selected Awards: 

Early career: 1973 PhD Disseration Award from American Psychological Association

Mid-career: 1989 Vice-Chancellor and President’s Teaching Award University of New South Wales, Sydney

Current: 2016 Best Paper Award Journal of Strategic Information Systems (with colleagues at TUM)

“Professional consequences: Too many to name but including new areas of research developing my expertise as a PhD supervisor; transferring strengths from working with Professor Krcmar to extend the Krcmar Chair‘s research expertise and exploring the TUM culture and strategy to my own university; exploring new methodologies; and experiencing and analysing the advantage of the German collaborative approach with business to collect research data from organizations that cannot be collected elsewhere in the world.”


Foto: Astrid Eckert / TUM

Prof. Nicholas Zabaras

Professor, Department of Aerospace and Engineering, University of Notre Dame, USA

Stays at TUM: 2008-2017

Host: Professor Phaedon-Stelios Koutsourelakis

Selected Awards: 

2014 Hans Fisher Senior Fellow, Institute for Advanced Study, TUM

2014 Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award

1991 Presidential Young Investigator Award

“The Hans Fischer Senior Fellowship at the TUM-IAS provided me with a unique opportunity to interact with TUM faculty and staff. A significant outcome of these interactions was the organization in 2015 of an international symposium on ‘Big Data Approaches to Scientific Applications’ at TUM-IAS that brought together some of the best researchers in machine learning and scientific computing. In addition, my TUM affiliation has provided me the honor of meeting and co-advising TUM PhD students. My work and interactions with them has given me a deep understanding of the quality education provided by TUM at all levels.“